2005-04-05 - 6:41 a.m.

I have a cool bracelet and equally cool hair

Why am I so busy? What happened to me being a lazy, bohemian artist/writer? All of a sudden I'm an overworked, underslept bohemian artist/writer. This goes against the very fabric of my being.

Oh, but you should know that I'm a proud little cucumber. Proud because I finally finished my bracelet for metals class and it looks badass. A cucumber because... actually, I don't know how I became that. One way or another, my project is, after much blood, sweat and tears (but mostly blood... the metal saws are pointy) finished. I really need to show you the bracelet because it's cool beyond my wildest dreams. I think I may wear it every day forever and ever, first because I love the little Dio de las Muertes skull motif and square links. More than that though, I have the warm, fuzzy feeling that comes from having put over 30 hours of labor into sawing, bending, shaping and sodering a thin piece of sterling silver. Go me! Go excessive effort like I never wanna exert again!

Now the only hurdle I have to get over is the class critique. You know, the part where Professor Nicole Dechamps-Benke informs me that my ideas are trite, my workmanship shoddy, and my general existence meaningless.

Fun.

For those of you who have never lived through an art class critique, just imagine something less fun than stepping on garden slugs with bare feet but more fun than a Russian gulag. Yeah, it's somewhere in there. Even when the teacher's not a fucker (though this one is- she almost made my cry at the last critique. The best (worst thing) she's ever said to me was "Why are you wasting my time? This is horrible.") anyway, even when the teacher doesn't drag you over the coals some pretentious art major will. I don't respond well to the passive agressive variety of "constructive criticism." Constructive my ass. More like constructive of your ego as you tear me down...

But enough of my angsty art-major rant, eh? How 'bout some more cheerful news? Like how right now I'm the winning bidder (and at 1.25, no less!) for something really badass on eBay. I'm not gonna tell you what it is though, because then you'll go and outbid me, and no way in hell am I paying more than 1.50 for this. Then again, why would you want it? I mean, how many DIY rock-star-artist types with low standards read my blog? Wait- don't answer that- that's all of you. Haha- just kidding about the low standards thing. But seriously- it's 11 half-to-mostly used tubs of absurdly colored hair dye. All different colors though, and the brand I usually buy. The fellow selling them says he unfortunately has to enter the "real world" (you know, that place where people have more lucrative and productive concerns than getting torn up in a critique an hour from now) and as such he can no longer have his brightly streaked hair. However he knows that punky weirdos don't mind half-used hair dye, so long as it's purple. I did the math on how full the containers are and how many full ones that would add up to. It's 5.14. And since I usually pay 8 bucks for a single one, paying 1.25 (plus a lame 6 dollars for shipping) for 5.14 total jars of 11 different colors (does my art-math make sense to anyone but me?) is a steal. Plus, some of the jars have the original punk art from the original company in NYC. Plus, I was wanting to paint multi-color streaks in my hair for summer. Think of it as my crayola-candy response to the highlights that EVERY girl gets about this time of year. I don't know if the blonde highlights are as ubiquitous elsewhere in the country (sort of like how I hear that there are places where people don't wear flip-flop sandals 365 days a year) but around here that's the summer "look." Hell, I've rocked 'em too. Black girls, Mexican girls, Asian girls- girls who's hair would never naturally develop blonde highlights- get them done too. Then they put on their flip- flops, spaghetti-strap tops and straw cowboy hats and wander down to the river. Now you have a mental picture of what every girl (save myself) in this town will look like for the next 5 months.

But where was I? Oh, yeah- out bid me on eBay and I'll kick your vibrantly-colored ass.

The last thing I wrote before this thing. The next thing I wrote after this.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!