2005-03-30 - 9:00 a.m.

I am a badass and the spring is pretty.

Oh what a horrible blogist I am! It has been days since my last entry! For shame!
Oh, but in my defense, I'm so busy lately I can't remember my own name. Who the hell am I? Oh, right! I'm that badass! To demonstrate my general badassitude I submit for your aproval one of the most amusing pictures ever taken of me:

For those of you who didn't know, yes, that is what I look like. I mean, when I'm being a badass. In most pictures I look like a nerd, but that picture has at least 40% less nerdiness than usual. Except for the part where I'm wearing a dirty t-shirt that says "this is preformance art," but you can look past that, right? Oh, and as for the haircolor, don't worry- this is only a very brief "normal-haircolor" stint and I promise it shall end soon. I just had a couple of engagements over spring break which demanded a semi-normal appearance. It'll be back to some alarming shade of red soon.

As for today, I have twice as many things to do than are possible to do in the time I've been allotted in which to do them. However, all of those things begin after noon. Thus I have a good three hours of screwing around before then. This is fabulous because it is one of the most beautiful days in the history of springtime outside. I apologize to all the northerners who are just now seeing the snow melt and anyone far enough south to be accross the equater and thus on the verge of winter rather than summer. That must suck, because in San Marcos, Texas the forecast is as follows: "Today: Mostly sunny. Warm. High near 85F. Winds WNW at 10 to 15 mph." And it's currently in the low 70s. Balmy, sunny and pleasant. Mwahahaha! Perfect weather!

Oh, but don't worry. I won't be laughing long. Come June we'll have whole months of highs over 100 and no rain or wind. Old people will start dying of heat stroke and dehydrated children will flood the emergency rooms. Every summer I mean to put that old saying about it being hot enough to fry an egg on the sidewalk to the test, but this year I swear I'll do it. I don't think it'll work on the white sidewalk though, but the black asphalt parking lot is perfect. I mean, it gets so hot in parking lots around here that if you go to the mall for the day in July and leave all the windows rolled up the heat inside the car can build up so much that it cracks the windshield. I couldn't make that up.

But enough talk about how hot Texas is. Back to what I shall do since it's so lovely today. I think the lovely weather positively demands that I walk to campus today. I think that I'll take the slightly longer way through the park and pause for a while to sit on the very green grass and read. When I was younger that was what I always hoped college would be like- mornings spent reading on the grass in the park. Of course there aren't many days like that, but at least I can fulfil my fantasy once in a while.

Well, since I've decided what to do with my morning I must now begin my half-hour long sunscreen application ritual. Curse this northern European skin!

The last thing I wrote before this thing. The next thing I wrote after this.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!