2005-01-23 - 12:57 p.m.

don't get married

Every girl in the world needs to know this:
That moment in the church with the things said and nice clothes and all? It marries you, but it does not empirically change the physical, emotional, etc. makeup of the man. Thus, if he was crazy and a bit unfaithful before, you can assume this will continue, maybe worsen, and now you'll be stuck with it. Forever and ever.

What's worse though is the girls I know who blindly want to get married and don't even have a dude yet. It's like "I've picked out the dress, invitations, location, and date.... I just have to find someone to marry." If one of said girlfriends is reading this right now, I know you like planning the wedding, but shouldn't it be more about mutual love and respect and not just an excuse for you to look pretty and have all your friends and family there? Find the boy, then plan the damn wedding.

Sigh- well, my heart goes out to my two ambivalently involved dude friends- Casey and Eugene. Both may/may not be married a year from now. Neither one seems too certain or too concerned. That seems like a lousy way to enter matrimony, but hey, what do I know? I'm the one who spent two and a half years with that guy who would pull himself off me and immediately go play computer games, so maybe I don't know everything about cultivating a perfect relationship.

The last thing I wrote before this thing. The next thing I wrote after this.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!