2005-01-03 - 9:02 p.m.

downstairs neighbors fighting

Hmmm. I'm trying to distract myself right now because my downstairs neighbors are fighting again. It makes me feel sick in my heart. Now he's shouting "Open the fucking door woman!" and she's crying something inaudible back. It makes me sad and queasy. Now theres a bang and a thud. I guess the door is open. A lot more thuds follow. Another bang. A slam. Some more inaudible yelling. I gather from all the thuds that he beats her. This happens about twice a week. So here's my problem. I feel morally bound to do something every time I see a horrible thing happening in the world around me, and yet I don't know what I could do and I know that this is none of my business and any medling would sourely not be appreciated. So... I sit here. There are more thuds. And more. I turn on the radio- more thuds. I turn up the radio. A slam.... and now there's peace. I wonder how long it will last.

The last thing I wrote before this thing. The next thing I wrote after this.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!