2005-01-02 - 10:42 a.m.

unemployable

"Well I went downtown to look for a job
I had no training; no experience to speak of
and I looked at the holes in my jeans
and I turned and headed home,
Na-na-na-na-naah, Story of my Life."

The above is, of course, not an original thought from me, but a song by Social Distortion. Regaurdless of origin, it's prefectly in keeping with my situaion. I just filled out an online jobsearch form. It asked me which software programs I had experience in and about my database prowesses, and I was like "um, I have great people skills?" Now I'm having flashbacks of applying for my previous job- I was hired, but on the grounds I tone down that "look" I "have going on." I'm just too cool for employment. Lets observe an imaginary Emma job-app, shall we?

Name: Emma Jane Flocke
Birthdate: 8/27/83
Previous employment: busgirl, hostess, waitress, expiditor, three days of retail (don't ask) more waitressing.
Reason for leaving previous employment: I colapsed into a sobbing heap and got fired, okay?
May we have the phone numbers of your previous employers? NO.
Computer skills: I spend a lot of time on facebook.
Personal info: The pink hair dye will rinse out eventually.
May we drug test you? YES!!! I'm so clean I don't even eat poppy-seed muffins! Hurrah!... I will get hired immediately upon passing, right?

Yup, it's pretty sad when your number-one selling point is what you don't do (i.e. substances other than my beloved cheap, pink wine). Ah well, such is the Emma. You'd hire me, right?

The last thing I wrote before this thing. The next thing I wrote after this.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!