2005-04-08 - 6:32 p.m.

Ducks, burritos, sunburn and the other accoutrements of skipping class

I couldn't sleep last night due to that usual lying-prone-in-the-dark-watching-the-clock-tick-my-life-away angst as well as my ever thrilling dream life. This caused me to sleep in today. When I finally awoke I saw that there was no way in Hell I would make it to German on time so I said "screw it" and was leisurely about brewing coffee and eating breakfast. I got dressed, slathered on sunscreen and walked to the river by way of the library. I checked out a book to read as I sat in the green grass then went and did just that. I read and swam and laughed and played. I saw plenty of people who I kind of know but don't really know. One of them now owes me 4 bucks. Another 5.50. We wanted burritos but of course no one but me would be stupid enough to try to carry a wallet in her swimsuit in the park, so I footed them. I'd damn well better be paid back- you know, 'cause I'm a bitch like that.

You might be wondering why I would lend anyone money in the first place since I seldom do that. I had just been petting a baby duck and well- if your heart doesn't turn to goo after petting a baby duck... you must not be human. That seems like a great con scheme. Baby ducks are so cute that I'm sure someone could take my whole wallet but so long as he had a baby duck in his hand I couldn't be too upset.

Speaking of the baby duck, I was so busy playing with it that I didn't even notice when I began to develop a HORRIBLE sunburn. I haven't had a sunburn like this in years. On the walk home from the river I stopped in the grocery store and got a huge vat of aloe vera gel. I am now sitting in my apartment topless, smearing the stuff over my back at 5-minute intervals. The saddest part about all this is that I was wearing a shirt, a hat and SPF 45 sunblock all at once. Yup, all of that and I still got sunburned. People always think it's cool that my family are natural blondes and redheads, but no- it is very NOT COOL. In fact, right now it's painful.

The last thing I wrote before this thing. The next thing I wrote after this.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!