2005-02-20 - 11:18 a.m.

I need a job

Okay- last night I wanted to go out, but couldn't foot the damn 3 dollar cover charge at Elysium. I have hit a whole 'nuther level of pathetic. Thus, I need a job. Employment will not only earn me money, but lend some structure to my life which lately is far too bohemian for its own good. Here's a hypothetical example day to prove my point:
I wake up late-
Drink coffee, smoke cigarette, don't eat breakfast because I spent my money on coffee and cigarettes instead of food-
Lay on the floor listening to the Cure-
"Work" on novel-
Do some art-
Try to find a way to make my ramen lunch more exciting... make an impromptu sauce out of penut butter, and old garlic clove, some packets of soy-sauce I jacked from The Firebowl and some of that cooking sherry that I keep drinking even though it tastes like cooking sherry... but the sauce is not too bad, if I do say so myself-
Get online for a few hours-
Study for a few minutes-
Masturbate-
Read magazine-
Work on novel some more-
Start drinking in the late afternoon-
Read for Art History class, take notes that make no sense later because I'm tipsy-
IM Jason-
Read the Bible-
Fall asleep.

It's one helluva life I lead, and yeah, I think I could use some more structure. I find that when I'm underchallenged and underbooked I quit caring about/doing anything. For some reason I'm more likely to spend an afternoon studying after a morning of work than after a morning of laying on the floor listening to the Cure. What up with that?

As for the other reason I need a job, that's a big incentiive. There are only so many ways you can make ramen exciting and only so many times you can drink 2 dollar sangria without puking. Beyond that, I have greed. I want a damn iPod. I suffer from MP3 player envy. I also want a metals saw so I can do more of my work at home. I want another tub of hair dye because I'm almost out... then again, maybe my future boss will not be down with the pink-haired thing. I dunno. But I also want to pay cover at places and go out on Saturday nights and fill up my car with gas. So yeah, I need a job.

The last thing I wrote before this thing. The next thing I wrote after this.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!