2005-02-18 - 7:04 p.m.

overactive brain

"Smells like teen spirit" is on the radio. I remember when this song just DID SOMETHING for me- like, I would get goosebumps when it came on. Now I'm older and realize that Nirvana was always kinda mediocre musically. I got rid of my copy of Nevermind ages ago, but once again, the past is always close at hand. I'm just glad I'm finally old enough to have a past. When I was little I was so melodramatic- when you don't even have two decades behind you the whole world seems to rise and fall on this one moment in time. But I think that's also something do do with being bipolar. There never was any future in my mind. Never. I just couldn't concieve of life beyond my bedroom. I thought I had a past, but it wasn't far enough away for me to see it clearly. Bear in mind I'm farsighted- both mentally and physically. You've noticed my reading glasses, no?

But lets talk about the present now. Now it's 7 on a Friday. I'm a bit tipsy from the cheap sangria I bought earlier. I'm starting to think that the best thing about living with my sister will be that it will put a cap on my drinking alone thing. It's really pathetic how much I drink- I don't think it's at the "problem" stage, just the "loser" stage.

Haha- self medicating is fun! I am so wraped up in my identity as a mentally ill person- god forbid I think of my drinking alone as a normal college thing... nooooo, I have to relate it to things that went wrong in my childhood and an inborn substance abuse problem and a chemical imbalence in my brain etc, etc.

Hmmm, while I'm in the present German today sucked. Don't think I did too well on the test, but had a nice conversation with Christen and Collin and Mark and Stephanie outside class afterwards. I live for meaningless interactions. I live for other people's love and aproval... fuck, there I go self-analzing again. Need more sangira... stop my overactive brain.

I wish my friends were as pathetic as I am. No one is online. Of my 9 AIM buddies, one is idle, one has an away message up announcing him to be out of town for the weekend, and the other 7 are out doing something worthwhile. I want an IM from anyone. Anyone, I don't care. You know how sometimes I go through phases where I don't want to talk to anyone? Well this is the opposite. I wanna talk to everyone. I have things I need to get off my chest that I will have no doubt forgotten by the time anyone contacts me.

The last thing I wrote before this thing. The next thing I wrote after this.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!