2005-02-03 - 8:41 p.m.

ranting again

So I just coppied the following quote off an Emo club page on Facebook:

"People...do you know the freaking meaning of emo???? I believe not cause you people look happy. SAD=Emo=Emotional=Crying=Pain=Heartache.......Get the picture???? Now get wiith the program!!!!"

Poor Emo boy- maintaining a lifesttyle obsession is hard work. I say just go goth- it's a lot easier and less ambiguos, but the scenesters are even bitchier and more high falutin'...
Oh, crap, I feel a rant coming on-
No one cares if you are/are not a member of a scene. Inevitably other people will judge and standards will rise and fall with the tide of mainstream culture. As much as we counterculture types like to ignore it, it's true. I (for ages and ages) played the "not really goth game." Then, I rezlized that if enough people say I'm goth, if I love The Mission, etc- nothing I say is going to make a difference. I've been tried in the court of public opinion. This Emo kid ranting up above is not Emo until I acknowledge him as such, since Emoness, being a lifestyle statement, no matter how much a part of you, is essentially external. And he can rage against people who aren't Emo enough just like I can rage against people who aren't goth enough. At the end of the day I don't like his music/fashion statement, he doesn't like mine, but we're both making a fine art of being bummed. Are we the same? SINCE THIS IS AN EXTERNAL GESTURE ON BOTH OF OUR PARTS (not saying it's not based on something deeply internal- just the final result is external) I DO NOT DECIDE IF I AM GOTH AND HE DOES NOT DECIDE HE IS EMO. This decision, my friends, is up to you. And what's more? At the end of the day THIS DOESN'T FUCKING MATTER! It's a Goddamn fashion statement! A damn CD collection. It is not faith or love or knowledge or any of the things that make the world go round. And furthermore, in a decade we'll be looking not unlike our parents anyway (unless, God willing, we can hold out- but we probably can't and who the fuck cares?). So yeah- the next time I see a goth/punk/emo, etc. person bemoaning the this and that of the genre, I'm going to... okay, I don't know what I'll do other than be unhappy, but you get the gist. Oh, and do I judge others on their lifestyle obsessions? Yeah- I try not to, but hey, it's not like a bitter chick with a blog has ever made a difference in the past, so once again, I say fuck it.

The last thing I wrote before this thing. The next thing I wrote after this.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!