2005-01-25 - 7:16 p.m.

god and all

*sigh*
Just for the record, if you try to call me, you will get the machine. I'm screening my calls. So there. I sorta want to talk, but I really don't. I'm overwhelmed right now. I really feel like God is about a million miles away. I feel lonely even though there are about a million people around me all the time... so many fucking friends. I really love the support, but sometimes I just need to be alone with my thoughts. My thoughts and mixtapes and black eyeliner. Me and my books and my lost faith. I'm not used to being depressed anymore. This had better be a brief one, but there's not much I can do. I mean, it would probably help if I wasn't listening to my NIN, Concrete Blonde, Marilyn Manson, Interpol, Cure, Folk Implosion "depressed as fuck" mix tape. I'm so bad about wallowing in myself when I know it's counterproductive. Then again, maybe it's not, because when I get down enough my faith inevitably comes back. You see, this is one of the big secrets of Emma. I have a lot off blasphemous flippancy, but that stems from a pretty strong personal faith. I'm not a crazy fundamentalist, but I'm certainly no atheist. I respect that both takes are just alternative ways of responding to my problem, and I kinda envy the unblinkingness with which both are usually adhered to. Being an intellectual Christian is tricky in this modern world, but I gain a lot of fulfillment from it. The problem is that lately I'm not feeling it. God feels about a million miles away. I believe, but it's like (to quote Wayne Hussey, the gothest man ever born... the 'Gothfather' if you will) "I still believe in God, but God no longer believes in me."

Well said, Mr Hussey. He has spiritual problems of his own, though- what with being raised strictly Mormon in England and all. I suppose I should be grateful I wasn't subjected to any such thing.

And yet, in the meantime, I have for reasons unfathomable sorta begun to begin to fully enter the church. Why? I dunno- thought it would help. Not much helps when I'm in a mood like this though.

The last thing I wrote before this thing. The next thing I wrote after this.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!