2005-01-24 - 2:47 p.m.

fashion

Okay, you may have already heard my theory of fashion. If so, bear with me while I reiterate. I don't really change my style based on what's "in." Rather, I keep dressing like a glamourous hobo and wait for the rest of the world to catch up. You'd be amazed how often this works out. Like when I decided a couple years ago that flapper hats were cool and then they started appearing in Vouge. Or my unending love of red lipstick. It comes back every other winter, so it's a safe bet... though I wear it in the summer as well ;)

Anyway, with my Christmas money I bought that corset I'm so enamoured with. The one that's black brocade with giant hook-and-eye closures. I wore it on Friday underneath a white oxford shirt and felt like a sexy bitch. In German one of my peers asked what the hell I was wearing. I smiled and informed her, though of course she knew. As I left the class I started to think that maybe I do dress a little strange, but no, maybe I'm just ahead of stuff- I was just looking through a magazine when I did a double-take... there was a beautiful model with tattoos wearing the exact corset I have. I checked the listing for the brand and all... yup it was new, it was by Tripp NYC, the only difference was that the magazine listed it as 52$, and I paid 45. This all adds up to me being not only way ahead of things, but also unknowingly thrifty. But wait, there's more. In the write-up about Tripp NYC that accompanied the picture it discussed how this once small underground designer has recently gotten press because it is the favortite brand of "musicians" from Avril Levigne to AFI.

And suddenly, I'm torn. This is the same problem I keep mentioning. The one where I feel so cool for being ahead of the curve and then realize that my whole "thing" is being co-opted by morons who don't work it nearly so well. The article went on to mention that Avril wore MY corset in Rolling Stone. In the 3 minutes it took to read that article I went from misunderstood to cutting edge to passe.

How quickly the modern fashion world moves.

The last thing I wrote before this thing. The next thing I wrote after this.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!