2005-01-21 - 9:11 p.m.

sororities can't talk to me

So today Denae told me that her sorority sisters didn't want her to be seen interacting with "that weird redhead" while she's wearing her letters. LOL!, and I think this is the first time I've used that abreviation in my diary (I normally try to be less concise) but I think it's a completely accurate. It's a superficial, silly, amused response to a situation which is all of those things. Of course I don't hold it against Denae or the girls of DG, but the superficiality of our culture. It's the same as when an alternativer-than-thou friend is shocked that I hang out with sorority girls.

And Jesus hung out with "tax collectors and whores."

With these facts in mind, lets get straight-up silly and apply John Dominic Crossan's concept of open comensality to this comparably trivial situation. Crossan believes that the cornerstone of Jesus' ministry is the communal meal. In a time when the group meal was a way to flaunt status and maintain pre-existing power structures, Jesus said that was stupid (and he used that word too- haha). He advocated a table where the rich would sit with the poor and the sinner and the saint and all that jazz.

2000 years ago, a man was arguing against what now translates to the difference between the "popular" and "un-popular" tables in the high school cafeteria. Yeah, we never learn. Never ever ever. Those who don't know the past are doomed to repeat it, and boy are we doomed. Doomed, I say! DOOMED! Mwahahaha!

The last thing I wrote before this thing. The next thing I wrote after this.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!