2004-12-29 - 11:31 p.m.

rotten foodstufffs

Have you ever left something in your fridge for so long that it goes past stinking? Not that it never begins to stink- it does, but at some point it becomes so decayed it stops stinking. Like roadkill after about a week. I was just cleaning out a bowl that I made a lovely Asian peanut sauce in a couple of weeks before Thanksgiving. First it was delicious, then it was stinky, then it was fuzzy, but after a while the fuzz started to go away- like there wasn't anything left that would intrest the young spores. Like small-town kids leaving their parents for the big city, I think the mold-children drifted to that sweet potato in the corner. I really don't know why I bought it- I don't even like sweet potatoes. It just looked nice in the store, and it looks even nicer in its dress of green. You see, the reason I habitually let things in my fridge go bader than bad is that the jr. scientist in me delights in seeing the new lifeforms I can create. I watch their progress, occassionally poke and prod them- that sort of thing. I love it when something unexpected happens. Like when I accidently sloshed a few drops of milk into the already molding peanut sauce. The colors that erupted from it a few days later were phenomenal.

At this point you may be wondering why, after having so much fun, I finally bid adeiu to both my peanut sauce and my sweet potato. Although i have fun with my moldy foods and would be able to produce my own pennicillin should I ever need it, I'm afraid it's a matter of the heart. I always promised I would never alter my behavior for a member of the opposite sex, but Jason's been a bit wary about eating at my house lately. Last time he opened my fridge to procure a soda, he said he felt genuinely nauseous. Although I love my inedible foodstuffs, he has established that enough is enough, and I love him more than any fungus. So this is my tribute. I say farewell to thee, peanut sauce and sweet potato! You shall be missed- not only by me, but also by your not-yet-thrown-away friends, the rock-hard parmesan and the dried out carrots. We mourn together!

The last thing I wrote before this thing. The next thing I wrote after this.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!