2004-12-19 - 5:04 p.m.

2004 worst songs

Okay, the year is drawing to an end, and you know what that means!

...oh, you don't? ..that must be embarassing- well I'll fill you in- it's the time of year when everyone publishes best and worst lists. Who's "People" magazine's man of the year? George dubba-fuckin'-ya Bush. Who was declared VH1 to be having the best year ever? "Some Dudes." Now it's my turn- the first Emma list:
TEN GREATEST ABOMINATIONS TO ALL THAT IS SACRED AND HOLY AS MADE IN THE NAME OF MUSIC (2004 EDITION)

10. "Figured you out" by Nickelback- I hear it's supposed to be ironic, but I'm still grossed out
9. Ashlee Simpson. You can dye your hair, cop Kelly Osborne's overdone facial movements, and wear a shirt that says "punk," but you're still not any smarter than your sister- only less famous.
8. Eminem and his homage to potty humor.
7. The entire "America's Sweetheart" album by Courtney Love. After buying it, I sat in my room being sad for awhile, and then I gave it to my sister. She's tried to give it back several times now, but I'm too sneaky for that.
6. The Duet between Nelly and Tim Mcgraw. Self explanitory.
5. "Dare you to move" I dare you to not get bored by this song.
4. Maroon 5. Everything they've done. Ever.
3.That 311 cover of "lovesong"
2. Paris Hilton is releasing an album. I couldn't make this up if I wanted to- which I wouldn't. That's not funny.
1. as signified by Avril Lavigne's corsets, Blink 182's hiring of the Cure/Pumpkins director to produce a melancholy video for their shamelessly dark "miss you" and the increasing market share of shitty emo bands who use bats and tombstones in their logos: THIS YEAR THE ABOMINATION WE CALL "POP-PUNK" BEGAN TO FADE INTO "POP-GOTH." I swear to god, in a year everyone will be dressing like me only stupider and talking about vampires, and it will be lame. Just watch- I came up with this idea that "pop-goth" would follow up pop-punk like, 2 years ago, AND NO ONE BELIEVED ME! Do not question the pop-culture prophecies of the Emma, for they are impeccably accurate!!!! (If I could insert an HTML code and make the letters in that last sentence bleed, I totally would.)

The last thing I wrote before this thing. The next thing I wrote after this.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!